Core Apprentice

*Apprentice is not spelled wrong, the “e” is simply cut off- damn coding!

When most are bogged down with trying to make (and keep) resolutions in the new year, I opened my e-mail on this white-out Midwest morning to see this:

Dear Andrew,

Congratulations! You have been chosen as one of the Playwrights’ Center’s Core Apprentices for 09-10. This means that you will receive a fully-funded 10-hour workshop at the Playwrights’ Center with a dramaturg, a director and actors. Your workshop will be scheduled around your availability, and will happen sometime between February and August 2010.

We had more applicants this year than ever before, and an outside panel went through two rounds of readings before choosing the final group. In addition to your workshop, you will receive two pages of feedback on your script submission to help you begin rewriting before your workshop. I will send those pages to you next week.

I will also be sending you a detailed information document next week, but I wanted to tell you the good news before the weekend.

Congratulations, again.

Warm regards,

I can’t wait for this.

